

Register of Board, Committee Member + Programme Directors Interests

This register captures information on our Board, Committee Members and Programme Directors. It includes public appointments, directorships, business interests and affiliations. Personal shareholdings, interests of minimal value (e.g. hot desking space), expired interests, and the interests of connected individuals, have been disclosed but not published.

This document was last updated on 8th September 2023. We'll publicly update it at the end of every quarter moving forwards.

Name + role	Registered interests
Matt Clifford Non-Executive Chair	 Director, Entrepreneur First Prime Minister's Representative for the UK's 2023 AI Safety Summit Expert Advisory Board Vice Chair, UK Government's Frontier AI Taskforce Trustee, Kennedy Memorial Trust Non-Executive Director: Code First Girls Ltd Accurx Ltd Omnipresent Ltd
Ilan Gur Chief Executive Officer	 Adviser, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Adviser, MIT Technology Review Innovation Fellow, Schmidt Futures



Antonia Jenkinson

Chief Finance +
Operations Officer

Nil return

Sarah Hunter

Non-Executive Director

- Consultant, NewLab
- Consultant, Access Partnership
- Trustee, NESTA
- Advisory Board Member, Imperial College London Institute for Deep Tech Entrepreneurship
- Non-Executive Director, Skateboard GB

Angela McLean

Non-Executive Director ex officio

- UK Government Chief Scientific Adviser
- Fellow, Royal Society
- Member, Academia Europaea
- For further information, see the Council for Science + Technology register of members' interests here.

Stephen Cohen

Non-Executive Director

- Commissioner, Gambling Commission
- Commissioner, Civil Service Commission
- Chair of Audit, Schroder Global Innovation Trust plc
- Chair of Audit, JPMorgan Japanese Investment Trust plc
- Trustee, Doctors in Distress



David MacMillan

Non-Executive Director

- James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry, Princeton University
- Scientific Consultant:
 - Relay Pharmaceuticals
 - Pfizer
 - Takeda
 - Biogen
 - Gilead Pharmaceuticals
 - Amgen Pharmaceuticals
 - Merck Research Laboratories
 - Johnson & Johnson
 - Abbvie Research Laboratories
- Non-Executive Director, Graviton
- Scientific Advisory Board:
 - Firmenich Inc
 - Isomorphic Labs
 - Rapport Therapeutics
- Founder:
 - Chiromics LLC
 - AcceLed LLC
 - DexterityPharma LLC

Pippy James

Nil return

Director of Product, Executive Team



Patrick Vallance

Non-Executive Director

- Chair, Natural History Museum
- Chair, International Advisory Panel 'Big Beat Challenge', British Heart Foundation
- Fellow, Academy of Medical Science
- Honorary Fellow, Royal Academy of Engineering
- Fellow, The Royal Society
- Non-Executive Director, Human Health and Potential International Advisory Board, National Research Foundation of Singapore
- Honorary Fellow, University College London
- Honorary Chair, University of Manchester

Dan Cole

Chief of Staff, Executive Team Nil return

Sue Hunt

Audit & Risk Assurance Committee, Independent Member

- Non-Executive Director:
 - Connected Places Catapult Ltd
 - The Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust
 - The Guinness Partnership Ltd



Kate Bingham

Non-Executive Director

- Director, SV Health Investors UK Ltd
- Member, SV Health Managers LLP
- Non-Executive Director:
 - Enara Bio Ltd
 - Mestag Therapeutics Limited
 - Autifony Therapeutics Limited
 - EyeBiotech Limited
 - Pulmocide Ltd
 - Sitryx Therapeutics Limited
 - Alchemab Therapeutics Ltd
 - Quell Therapeutics Limited
 - The Francis Crick Institute
- Honorary Fellow:
 - Royal Society
 - Academy of Medical Sciences
 - Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine
 - British Pharmacological Society
- Honorary Doctorate, Imperial College

Angie Burnett

Programme Director

• Member, Society for Experimental Biology



David 'davidad' Dalrymple

Programme Director

- Consultant, Protocol Labs*
- Consultant, Survival and Flourishing .Com PBC
- Advisor (unpaid):
 - Metaplanet Inc
 - Al Objectives Institute
 - Timaeus
 - UK Government's Frontier AI Taskforce*
- Fellow:
 - Foresight Institute
 - The Institute PBC

Gemma Bale

Programme Director

- Academic member:
 - Churchill College
 - Institute of Physics
 - International Society on Oxygen Transport to Tissue
 - SPIE
- Employee:
 - University of Cambridge

Jacques Carolan

Programme Director

- Academic Member / Member:
 - University College London
 - IEEE
 - Sculpted Light in the Brain
- Consultant, Revena
- Patent owner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology



Sarah Bohndiek

Programme Director

- Employee, University of Cambridge
- Member:
 - ESMI
 - IPASC (www.ipasc.science)*
- Fellow, SPIE
- Trustee, Corpus Christi College*
- Patent owner, Cambridge Enterprise / Cancer Research Horizons

Suraj Bramhavar

Programme Director

- Director, Sync Computing*
- Consultant, Normal Computing
- Patent owner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mark Symes

Programme Director

- Director, Clyde Hydrogen Systems Ltd
- Employee, University of Glasgow
- Academic member:
 - Royal Society
 - University of West of Scotland
 - International Society of Electrochemistry
 - Electrochemical Society
 - Royal Society of Chemistry
 - Society of Chemical Industry
 - American Chemical Society
- Collaborator in on-going research,
 - Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult
 - Invinity Ltd
 - University of Strathclyde
 - TUV SUD National Engineering Laboratory



- Recipient of grant funding
 - Mission Zero Technologies
 - Net Zero Technology Centre
 - Grantham Institute
 - Petroleum Technology Development Fund (Nigeria)
 - Saudi Arabian Cultural Bureau

Jenny Read

Programme Director

- Employee, Newcastle University
- Consultant, Magic Leap Inc
- Academic member:
 - Vision Sciences Society
 - Society for Neuroscience
 - Applied Vision Association
- Advisor, Max Planck Institute for Neurobiology of Behavior (caesar)

Note: Any conflict marked with an * is subject to change upon the official start of the Programme Directors contract at ARIA.